Webcast not working?  Click here for troubleshooting tips.

  

Who We Are

You are currently viewing the low-bandwidth version of the Re:Search webcast. Return to the full-bandwidth version.

Thank you for participating in the WIPO Re:Search webcast!

The press conference will take place at 10:30a.m. Central Europe/9:30a.m. London/4:30 a.m. Eastern U.S., and the roundtable discussions will begin at 2:00p.m. Central Europe/1:00 p.m. London/8:00a.m. Eastern U.S.

In WIPO Re:Search, eight major pharmaceutical companies are leading a charge in an unprecedented multi-sector collaboration to speed the creation of new drugs, vaccines, and diagnostics to treat or cure these neglected tropical diseases, malaria, and tuberculosis, which impair the lives of more than 1 billion people. Learn more about this ground-breaking initiative here.

 

WIPO Re:Search Launch Schedule of Events

Press Conference - Geneva, Switzerland

10:30a.m. CEST | 9:30a.m. BST | 4:30 a.m. EST

Speakers will include:

Francis Gurry, Director General, World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
Don Joseph, Chief Operating Officer, BIO Ventures for Global Health
David Brennan, Chief Executive Officer, AstraZeneca
Matern Lumbanga, Tanzanian Ambassador, Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary and Permanent Representative to the UN
Muhammad Ali Dhansay, Acting President, South African Medical Research Council
Jorge Bermudez, Researcher, Fundação Oswaldo Cruz (Fiocruz)
Tom Mboya Okeyo, Kenyan Ambassador, Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary and Permanent Representative to the UN

Roundtable Discussion - Geneva, Switzerland

2:00p.m. CEST | 1:00 p.m. BST | 8:00 AM EST

The first panel will provide a high-level overview of the WIPO Re:Search initiative, including details on how to join this ground-breaking coalition.

Panel 1 speakers will include:
Margaret Chan, Director General, World Health Organization (WHO)
Francis Gurry, Director General, World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
Don Joseph, Chief Operating Officer, BIO Ventures for Global Health
David Brennan, Chief Executive Officer, AstraZeneca
Matern Lumbanga, Tanzanian Ambassador, Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary and Permanent Representative to the UN
Muhammad Ali Dhansay, Acting President, South African Medical Research Council

The second panel will showcase company contributors involved in WIPO Re:Search and will provide more details about the scope and impact of the initiative.

Panel 2 speakers will include:
Duncan Learmouth, lead of Developing Countries and Market Access operating unit, GlaxoSmithKline
Alisa Harbin, Head, Corporate Intellectual Property, Novartis
Roy Waldron, Senior Vice-President, Associate General Counsel, Chief Intellectual Property Counsel, Pfizer
Robert Sebbag, Vice President, Access to Medicines, Sanofi
Matern Lumbanga, Ambassador of Tanzania
Muhammad Ali Dhansay, Acting President, South African Medical Research Council
Tom Mboya Okeyo, Kenyan Ambassador, Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary and Permanent Representative to the UN